Star Wars - Sand People
Star Wars – Sand People (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I went to see my “regular” doctor today. She hugged me [warmly] and sat down on her stool. “Well, don’t you look good for someone with a TSH of  51”, she said grandly. [TSH is Thyroid Stimulating Hormone, if you care. “normal” values are from .35 to 4.5, as if..]

“I’ve been diagnosed with Lyme Disease,” I mentioned.

She continued looking at my chart, at past visits, trying to figure how the numbers are so out of whack, again. My thyroid was removed a little over a year ago and my symptoms have almost never correlated with the blood work. It’s numbers on a paper to me. I resisted the urge to tell her that it had been 68 once. She has been diligent in her search to help me try to find the right med combination. I mentioned the Lyme again, this time a little louder.

She had a story, as she often does, about some other patient who’d been screwed financially by someone who had diagnosed her with Lyme disease. I listened politely.

“You know…, she said cautiously, “We aren’t dealing with a known entity there”. She meant “to medical science”. Medical science has not yet wrapped it’s slithery snake head around Lyme Disease. Or I should say, the institution of Western medical science saw Lyme, declared it handled and pooped it out the other side. Now it says, “I pooped it, its gone. What’s the problem?”

“I know,” I said. “I know about the controversy”.

“There are no answers there,” she said with an air of parental know-it-all-ness.

“I know,” I said, with a touch of teenage going-to-do-it-anyway-ness.

She started to tell me about some patients she’d seen who were having similar symptoms to mine who were overdosing on B vitamins and she wanted to check my blood for that.

“I don’t take B vitamins”, I said.

“Why don’t you take vitamins?” she said, scolding me. “You don’t know what you’re taking. You’re taking herbs“. Her love for medical science was beaming through her eyes. She smiled surreptitiously.

“They’re wildcrafted,” I said.

“But what does that m-e-a-n?”

I gave myself the gift of not going into a discussion of the process of wildcrafting herbs. I also refrained from saying, “whatever” like my pre-pubescent son does after every other sentence.

I’ve seen a lot of doctors, and I’ve heard a lot of things. And in the end none of it really matters much unless I let the harmful stuff in. When I’m having a lot of symptoms my ‘regular doctor” blames Hashimoto’s (which has never shown in my blood). My Lyme Doctor blames Lyme and co-infections (which did show in my blood). The CDC says I’m just looking for an explanation for the “aches and pains of everyday living”. None of that matters. It doesn’t even matter that as I’m writing this there is some anti-Lyme vitriol showing up in my “Related Posts” right below the dialogue box I’m typing this in. Do you want to know why? Because the only person who is in charge of my healing is me.

 

6 thoughts on “Lyme Wars

  1. It is so much more than just denial by med pros. It’s outright I’m-afraid-to-go-near-you-for-fear-of-catching-leprosy type attitude by some. I couldn’t find any local med pros wiling to teach me or my husband how to give IM injections as part of my treatment, insisting it was the prescribing doc’s job. Which would have been fine if the prescribing doc lived nearby. *heavy sigh*

    Like

  2. You gotta go with your gut! I too went for about 4 years with various doctors not figuring out what was going on with me. But I knew I was sick. That was all that mattered. Keep on keeping on. Don’t let anyone get in your way of healing. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

      1. Now that you have been officially diagnosed, have you been able to start treatment? There are many support groups on FB for Lyme sufferers. They definitely have helped me learn about this crazy disease and they are a safe place to go for support. I’ve been in treatment almost 19 months and my story seems quite similar to your’s. Keep me in mind if you just want to talk about all of this!

        Like

  3. I went through TONS of doctors calling me anorexic, and even crazy. Or its all in your head. Its sickening, there job is to help people but their education is so narrow sighted it has you questioning why they became a doctor in the first place if they were going to put a filter on who they believed vs their ego.

    Like

Make my day

